My plan, back in January of last year, was to become a vegetarian. I thought I did the right amount of research. I’m a very picky eater so it was imperative that I do it right. I mean, vegetarians live off of beans and soy, and other equally unappealing ingredients, right? I can’t stand either one of those two foods. My worst nightmare would be the doctor telling me my body can’t handle being a vegetarian.
I don’t want to eat animals. I have nothing against people who do. Do I like it? No, but to each their own. However, being part native, I feel like if you’re going to kill an animal you should use every part that you can. That animal should not die in vain. Humans are capable of compassion. It’s one of the best things about us. Animals should not suffer for our food. It’s just the right thing to do.
So, I was flabbergasted when I found out that after being a vegetarian for a year, I haven’t been vegetarian at all. I haven’t touched a single morsel of animal, not even fish, for 392 days. Well, I didn’t think that I had.
Ever hear of gelatin? Yes, we all have, I’m sure. But, do you know where that comes from? Animals. Um yeah!
Here I was thinking desserts are safe. Because thinking of animal parts being in my desserts is so far beyond gross I cannot fathom it. Well, I got a wake-up call the other day, which forced me to do further research.
And let me tell you, research leads to more research and more research. Upon researching gelatin and other vegan products, I found out that there’s gelatin in vitamin supplements (which vegetarians and vegans usually have to take), there are also ground up bugs in our food. Yes, you read that right.
Labels like to have tricky names for them so you don’t know what you’re eating. Like me, you probably didn’t know that Red 4 or Cochineal extract is made from (get ready for it) ground up bugs! When I found this out I had to triple check as many websites as possible and read what everyone was saying about it.
I am disheartened that they are allowed to sneak these types of ingredients into our food. What else do they sneak into our food? I almost don’t want to know.
If you’re vegan there are other products like casein that are milk related. They sneak these into foods as well.
What gets me is that our lotions and beauty products are not all vegan! I knew about makeup, but lotions? Grrr!
Why do I have to go out and buy special moisturizers to put on my skin that DON’T contain animals parts? Again, I’ve been a vegetarian for a year, and two days ago I found that I have not been a vegetarian at all.
I don’t want animals slaughtered or tortured, and treated inhumanely for any product I use. EVER!
Another horrible thing I found out is that apparently companies have found ways around labels, which means…. more research! Big companies that are losing money because more and more people are going vegan are buying smaller companies so that they can brand these smaller companies as vegan. That way they can still do the terrible things they were doing, not lose money, and dupe the people who think they are doing good in the world and avoiding animal ingredients.
Seriously, I don’t understand this. Just DON’T put animals in your products and don’t test on them! They’re not dolls, they’re not toys, they’re not slaves. Then, guess what happens? People will buy your product!
I don’t know about you, but if I weren’t a vegetarian, I would still be upset that big corporations are tricking ‘free-will’ away from its consumers. If we don’t want to eat animals, or wear them or have their ground up body parts on our skin then we have that right!
If you are going vegetarian or vegan I urge you to do your research and be careful. It’s hard work. It’s a nearly impossible task but it is worth it if it’s something you really want. Don’t let companies dupe you.
We can only do the best we can. Am I right?
Good luck to you, and if you have any comments or ‘secret ingredients’ that you wish to shed light on, please take a minute and comment. I would love to hear from you.
A Clumsy Writer